A project that challenge myself (ALEPH-1.2)

by:biru  translate:ackcheng

First of all, I would like to thank NELSON PASS for his kindness in making the schematic available. Aleph 1.2 is indeed a very special amp. I would also like to thank a owner of a web site in Taiwan - PRBS for his help along the way. Before this Aleph 1.2, I have also made an Aleph 2 and the chassis is also my DIY product. When I finished the Aleph2, I found the sonic character a very pleasing one. The kind that I have cherished for a long time! But the problem of Aleph 2 is that it is not able to dive my pre-owned B&W802 well?K.. Therefore, I have the idea of Aleph 1.2. It has been at least 15 months from the time I started gathering information.
 

As every DIYer knows, the hardest part of any project is chassis. Luckily, I do have some knowledge in this very area. I also have friends working for living in this field! When I completed the Aleph 2 using the chassis shown above, the chassis was amazingly hot. So this time, I decided to use a heat sink with a width of 280mm and a height of 600mm. The final size of the chassis will be 660 x 340 x 620mm. The size of the final chassis will be HUGH ?V I call it ??The Beast?? 

 
The picture below shows the partially completed chassis before polishing and anodizing.
 
The transformer was a group buy from Taiwan. Rating of the transformer is 2500W!
 

What about filtering caps? Because we have a few other friends building the same amp, we arranged a group buy from the factory with the help of Ben from diyrealaudio.com. We ordered 44 pcs of BHC 47000uF in total. I use 6 pcs for each channel!

 

For the MOSFET, I ordered 650 pcs of IRF240 for matching. The matching process was very tiring but worth every bit of time!

 

The following pictures should the 3.9mH choke for my CLCC filtering.

 

Matching IRF240 needs a lot of time

 

The bridge is formed buy MUR3040PT

 
In order to save space, the transformer is placed vertically. I have also specially made a 2mm stainless steel case for it. The connections for the caps are made of 2mm thick copper.
The resistors we used were RA

On the main board C5 C9 C10 were BLACK GATE. After all the components were ready, I started to put them together

The main board and the output board

When I did the Aleph2 last time, I accidentally cut my fingers and needed 5 stitches. This time, I have created a cart to bring the whole thing in and out of the working table!

Indeed, this is my first heavy weight DIY project. It is estimated that each channel will weigh 100 Kg!!

 

After completed the power supply, I have double check the circuit many many times, if I had made a mistake here, it will be a disaster!

 

In order to prevent the current surge during setup, I have also created a softstart circuit as shown below

After repeated checking and checking, it is time to turn on the power. This moment has put me on a lot of pressure!

You can see on the picture that I put the MOSFETs in the lower half of the heatsink. This is deliberate as the heat will move up and I can make use of the whole heatsink!

Before I switched on the amp, I used 3 multimeters, the first one was connected to the Z5 to measure the voltage across the zener. The second one was connected to R11 and  the last one to the output to measure the output DC. Counting 1..2..3 and then switched on?K. Superb! All readings were close and the DC output was 120mV and slowly came down to 55mV. Very happy! So I just let it run and I copied the reading down every 15min. One hour later?K. I could not wait anymore and connected the amp to a small speaker. Using an electric pen to touch the input?K. Yes, I could hear the current noise!

I have tested it for 2 consecutive days and each day about 3-4 hours. The first channel eventually settled down. Now, my confidence built up and I am ready for the second channel. Without much problem, the second channel was also completed in a very short time. And the DC output was only 12mV!!! That is very good indeed, but I am a perfectionist so I decided to change the 9610 (Q1 & Q2 ) from the first channel (DC output 55mW)?K?K.. this decision ended up in disaster! While I was removing the 9610, I forgot the capacitors were not fully discharged and I have sorted the circuit?K?K. In split second, I heard some noise with flashing lights?K.. Oh shit! Burnt the Q2 and 18 pcs of MOSFETs?K?K Oh my!!!!!!

 

Luckily, I have 24 spared matched MOSFETs originally prepared for another Aleph 2. Put them on and luckily, this time is OK!! And the DC output is now 11mV! Now after 2 days of testing, I finally connect it to my ATC-20 speaker 

 

Testing equiptment:

This is my DIY BZLS preamp. Yes?K.. the case is DIY as well and no?K. they are not for sale.

 
 Speaker ATC-20

It was really touching the moment I connect it up! It has been 15 months, you know?K?K.. After listening for awhile, I turned it up to 12 o??clock but I have noticed that the mid range is a little bit distorted. Two days later, I rewired all the connection and it is still the same?K.. After some help from my friend Mr. Tai, I changed the bias to 0.5V. Because the R19 on the circuit board was originally fixed at 56.2K, I changed it to a 100K pot and change the bias to 540mV. After waited 1 hour for it to be stable, I could not wait any longer but to connect it up to the amp again. That was 5:00am! And the human voice was so loud when the volume was only at 9o??clock position. I immediately turned down and the voice was really seductive! I have never thought that bias has such an important effect. On the following afternoon, I turn the volume way up and using a drum CD to try out. Wow! I have never seen my speaker??s woofer moves like this! As many of you may know, ATC-20 is very difficult to drive, using this DIY Aleph 1.2, I can finally say that my speaker is satisfied! I couldn??t stop the machine until 4 hours later when I have to pick up my wife/boss!

 

 

 

My current equiptment

 

Preamp:  MARKLEVINSON 26S

Power amp : DIY ALEPH1.2

CDP:  TEAC VRDS-25X

 

I will try to compare my BZLS and the 26S later

This is my reference!

挑戰自己的工程 (ALEPH-1.2)  作著:biru
在此先多謝NELSON PASS 非常大方公開線路給大家來仿造聲音那麼美妙的後級.在此亦多謝台灣網PRBS 的戴先生提供技術支緩.而小弟在制造1.2之前巳完成的ALEPH-2.亦都是小弟所搞的機箱團購.在完成後感覺聲底非常之適合自己的要求.但推動當時的B&W802力度還差一點點.故此再向它的哥哥ALEPH-1.2進發.在開始找資料和團購零件等應最少有15個月啦.而在此漫長的日子如不是對音響和DIY那麼投入的話一早己打退堂鼓啦.廢話少講馬上向著我的理想進發.
 

DIY來講最頭痛的是機箱問題.而小弟在這方面亦都有些少皮毛常識.亦都找來朋友幫忙所以在這方面也不是問題啦!最多跑多幾回吧!因有ALEPH-2的經驗知道它的熱量驚人.ALEPH-1.2可想而知.所以這次的機箱決定向高空發展.而尺寸是每個散熱器闊度是280MM.高度決定600MM.所以做起來是高660X340MMX620MM.所以做起來是非常巨大的.故此給它改了一個名字……..異獸

 
在初部完成的相片在拖板車只可放1對機箱.
 
而變壓器方面得知台灣PRBS綱團購.有幸小弟可以參家而變壓器的功率為每個2500W.
 
而濾波電容方面當初四處張羅都未有結果.最後因我們幾個網友己須44支電容.也得到台灣綱REALAUDIO BEN兄幫忙發起團購.這次團購是採用的是一向評價甚高的BHC 47000UF 2聲道共用12
 

而功率管方面從美國定來IRF240 650粒回來配對.在這次配對真是很幸苦但換回來的效果真是非常理想.

3.9MH銅箔電感

 

在配對IRF240真是須要很多空閑時間

 
而橋式整流今次得亨利兄出手幫忙找來MUR3040PT組成雙橋式整流
 

而變壓器為了更節省位置而垂直放置.而特定了一對厚2MM的不鏽綱的牛屋.而連接大水塘

當然也用2MM厚紅銅片啦

而連接電源的線材也得德哥讚助的超正英國防火線.而主板所用的電阻是用音頻專用的RA電阻

而主板中的C5 C9 C10 是採用備料己久的BLACK GATE 組成

溉然已全部備料齊備就馬上開工

在己焊了接很久的功率板和主板
在上一個工程ALEPH2受過慘痛的教訓後(被散熱器弄傷手指縫了5)而這次定做了2架木車.非常好用.時常在工作間和大廳推出推入

講真小弟真是第一次DIY這麼重型的後級.相當吃力.現最保守估計做起每聲道230.

在組裝完的電源部份後.重覆又重覆檢查有無接錯.因這裡接錯真係真係相當慘痛的.

 

而應付這個那麼大型的供電係統.也用來PRBS綱中的緩沖開關線路.用洞洞板做

一        份        .        學        戴        兄        講        四       兩        撥       千       斤

電源部份和緩沖開關反覆反覆試了多次後.就要正式送電了.事實上到了這一刻心裡的壓力是有的…………真是有壓力……………..未解決   我都係啊叔呀!

因小弟的機箱按裝功率管位置是放在中下層(因溫度是向上升的.如按裝在上層的話就會下層溫度不平均而浪費散熱器)所以在測試時要放線比較長.到測試完後會將線剪到盡量短的.

在末送電前先將3個數字表接上一個接Z5 量度然納2極管的垮壓  一個接R11量度垮壓. 另一個接輸出量度直流.全部準備妥當後.數個 1 2 3 按制開機.開機後馬上看數字表.有否跟戴兄的數字會否相差太遠.太好啦!數字相當接近.而直流輸出由開機一刻由120MV一直向下直至55MV穩定下來.當時真的很開心..之後任由它開著..15分鐘就抄下它的數句.一小時後終於忍不住接個細喇叭然後用電筆按輸入位置.聽到有電流聲後又有一陣的開心的一刻終於發聲啦!

在連續2天的測試.每天開3-4小時.這一聲道穩定下來.算是完成了.馬上準備另一聲道開工.因有了上一聲道成功的信心.所以這一聲道就非常之快也順利完成了.而直流輸出就更加漂亮只有12MV.所以就出事啦…………因為貪心.原本巳完成的一聲道直流輸出只有55MV應巳幾好的啦.但因想它更完美而更換一對Q1 Q2 9610.但因得意忘形之下沒有完全放電.在拖離數字針時短路.一下電光火花我己知不妙.在一會兒呆下來後痛定思痛將全部功率板拆下來量度.結果燒了一粒Q2 功率管也燒了18.不知甚麼原因燒了功率管數目會這樣.當時的心情真是很難受.,馬上收工去睡覺

 

在前一晚因睡眠充足.所以這天晚上非常之精神.話說上一回說到燒了整整24IRF240(18粒和24粒沒有分別)可幸的是小弟有己配好的後備的IRF24024.於是將小弟的全部家當接上.重覆檢查後再接上電.這次可幸的沒事沒事啦!而且直流輸出可得償所望回落到只有11MV.跟住下來連續2天的測試穩定後終於要正式接到我的ATC-20喇叭處開聲.

當時的器材 

 

我                 的                  BZLS                  前                  級

喇                                                     叭

                                                                        ATC-20

開聲的時候真的很感動.在聽了一小時候開始將VOL增大到12時位置但發覺人聲有些失真的問題.過了2天後從新將接線布好後再試都是一樣.在沒辦法之下求教戴兄.就被戴兄一言驚醒.戴兄說如散熱器足夠的話可將偏流調高至0.5V.因我當時在主板的R19是用固定的56.2K電阻.所以馬上換回100K半可變電阻.然後調至540MV.就靜止電流相等於4.32A.記得當晚調好後.看它穩定下來一小時後終於忍不住接喇叭開聲.當時己是凌晨5.當播著蔡琴的渡口.VOL只是扭到9時位置.當開聲時嚇了我一跳.音壓相當大.馬上關細VOL.而底音一陣一陣地出來.相當美妙的聲音.估不到調校偏流會影響那麼大.到了第二日中午再試來個大爆特爆的打鼓名碟. 打斷鼓棍 KNOCK OUT 小弟的ATC-20的嗽叭橡膠邊從來都未試過跳動得那麼利害.因為它非常大食的關係.如推動到這個情況一定要大電流和大W數的後級先至可以把它控制得到.之後連續試人聲.樂器.二胡小提琴等4小時.非常之滿意而關機.因要接老婆啦.可幸的是我的老婆大人可容忍小弟這一個月來番天覆地砌機而冷落她啦!

 

現時的器材

 

前級  MARKLEVINSON 26S

後級ALEPH1.2

CD  TEAC VRDS-25X測試的器材

 

2天將BZLS前級再度進補後再來和26S大比拼一下

我           的           校           聲           材           料           吸           音           狗